Author Topic: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?  (Read 1779 times)

Offline sevenz

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2708
  • home theatre lover :D
Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« on: September 05, 2020, 19:15 »
Helping my elderly godpa look for a set to enjoy his music while able to enjoy his HT via avr. 90% music usage. Mostly country music

To pair with his marantz sr5010 avr and dali ikon 1 speakers. His avr has preouts to connect to the 2 ch amp. He only has 1 pair of front speakers (for both HT and music)

But we totally know nuts abt 2 ch amps with HT bypass.

Would like to get some help to suggest models to look out for in used market? Best if its currently available right now online. E.g carousell :)

His budget is less than 900. :)

Grateful for any suggestions /help
« Last Edit: September 10, 2020, 10:02 by sevenz »

Offline domj

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 685
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Re: Suggestions for a used 2ch/ stereo amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2020, 19:53 »
http://audiophile.no/en/articles-tests-reviews/item/426-amplifiers-with-processor-input

This article has quite a good list. Can narrow down from there.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline sevenz

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2708
  • home theatre lover :D
Re: Suggestions for a used 2ch/ stereo amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2020, 20:07 »
http://audiophile.no/en/articles-tests-reviews/item/426-amplifiers-with-processor-input

This article has quite a good list. Can narrow down from there.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thx bro for the list. :) But we face a big problem cos the long list has no price hence it is difficult to zoom in to which can be below 900.

Possible to suggest some models that can fall within 900? Cos we are not familiar at all with 2ch amps :)
« Last Edit: September 05, 2020, 21:12 by sevenz »

Offline tane0019

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 3007
  • 3rd Rock from the SUN - Middle Earth


Offline ginamos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 147
  • I'm a llama!

Offline domj

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 685
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2020, 19:40 »
Cool find: Cambridge Audio Azur 851A for S$990 https://carousell.app.link/JapHru2Gy9

Here’s one more for consideration. 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline sevenz

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2708
  • home theatre lover :D
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2020, 09:08 »
Cool find: Cambridge Audio Azur 851A for S$990 https://carousell.app.link/JapHru2Gy9

Here’s one more for consideration. 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thankful dom. Will check it out

Offline sevenz

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2708
  • home theatre lover :D

Offline sevenz

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2708
  • home theatre lover :D
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2020, 13:44 »
Thx for all the help rendered.

Just found out from bro Ronil that I can add a RCA/XLR switch to serve as a HT bypass. So my choices for 2 channel amps is much wider now and not restricted by one that has HT bypass function!!

Posting in the audio forum to get more advice as it's more music related now since no need HT bypass. Thanks for all the help!

Mods, you may delete this thread if necessary as the help needed has changed drastically. Thx!
« Last Edit: September 09, 2020, 13:46 by sevenz »

Offline tane0019

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 3007
  • 3rd Rock from the SUN - Middle Earth
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #10 on: September 09, 2020, 20:53 »
Thx for all the help rendered.

Just found out from bro Ronil that I can add a RCA/XLR switch to serve as a HT bypass. So my choices for 2 channel amps is much wider now and not restricted by one that has HT bypass function!!

Posting in the audio forum to get more advice as it's more music related now since no need HT bypass. Thanks for all the help!

Mods, you may delete this thread if necessary as the help needed has changed drastically. Thx!

Isit ?  How to do it by adding a RCA/XLR switch ?

Can meh ???

Offline sevenz

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2708
  • home theatre lover :D
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #11 on: September 09, 2020, 22:07 »
This is what I understand can be done. Pls jump in if I get it wrong or if its not possible .

For music:
Oppo analogue out (front left and right) > rca switch input A > rca switch output to stereo amp
(note: oppo will be used as a pre-amp)

For movies :
Oppo hdmi out > avr hdmi input > for front LR channels, avr pre-out for front LR speakers > rca switch input B > rca switch output to stereo amp.

For both cases, depending on music or HT usage, just use the rca switch to select the path to be used
« Last Edit: September 09, 2020, 22:11 by sevenz »

Offline Djblackfm

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 299
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #12 on: September 09, 2020, 22:20 »
Isit ?  How to do it by adding a RCA/XLR switch ?

Can meh ???
I'm using this switcher. It's the same as Bro Ronildoq. You can grab them from AliExpress.

Well for me it's a good addition to use between on Nord streamer and lyngdorf via  Nord 3ch Purifi Monoblocks amps.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

If we don't share or exchange knowledge we won't grow & understand. Be more open, Share & Learn.

Online kinger

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 388
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #13 on: September 09, 2020, 22:49 »
More clarity needed....

Will there be additional speakers or cd player added to the 2 channel integrated amp setup?

There are zone2 & front pre-outs from the AVR, why not add a power amp & leverage on the AVR pre-amp instead?

Why use the AVR pre-out to integrated amp HT-bypass just to use the power amp section (skipping the integrated amp pre-amp control)?

Good read from 2012: http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=124689.0

stand alone 2 channel still the best.....just saying ;D


Offline Djblackfm

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 299
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #14 on: September 09, 2020, 22:56 »
More clarity needed....

Will there be additional speakers or cd player added to the 2 channel integrated amp setup?

There are zone2 & front pre-outs from the AVR, why not add a power amp & leverage on the AVR pre-amp instead?

Why use the AVR pre-out to integrated amp HT-bypass just to use the power amp section (skipping the integrated amp pre-amp control)?

Good read from 2012: http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=124689.0

stand alone 2 channel still the best.....just saying ;D
Hello,

Good sharing kinger.

I did not go with HT pass. As I've different players. Example, playback from zidoo uhd2000, lyngdorf MP 50 and Nord Streamer. So the switcher is the best option for me.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

If we don't share or exchange knowledge we won't grow & understand. Be more open, Share & Learn.

Offline synthesis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 4872
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #15 on: September 09, 2020, 23:04 »
For movies :
Oppo hdmi out > avr hdmi input > for front LR channels, avr pre-out for front LR speakers > rca switch input B > rca switch output to stereo amp.
This one is no go, I think.
AVR pre out needs to go directly to power amp (HT bypass), not to other input with pre amp in the chain.

Online kinger

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 388
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #16 on: September 09, 2020, 23:24 »
Since 90% is music usage, sell the avr and change to 2.1 channel...still cater to the 10% movie with good bass?

Online kinger

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 388
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #17 on: September 09, 2020, 23:30 »
Hello,

Good sharing kinger.

I did not go with HT pass. As I've different players. Example, playback from zidoo uhd2000, lyngdorf MP 50 and Nord Streamer. So the switcher is the best option for me.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk



Cool...so many players..nice

Offline econav

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 6529
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #18 on: September 09, 2020, 23:35 »
First why need a 2 ch integrated amp with HT bypass ?

Second , is there or going to add in CD player or 2 ch source ?

Third , does the elderly know how to use it ?

To enjoy or to trouble .....
AudioControl,Gallo acoustic, JVC, Ken Kreisel, Starke Sound, FocusView, Rose HiFi, Rythmik, Xgimi, Zidoo UHD2000

From time to time we may sell off New but open up used for rental/standby/loan items and to ensure they cant be sold as Brand new, we will dispose off the box.

All posts
http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?action=profile;area=showposts;u=2968
Service & collection : Block 1085 #03-36 Eunos Ave 7A  whatsapp 96387418 to arrange

Offline wcseow

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 666
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #19 on: September 10, 2020, 00:06 »
I am not sure, but would connecting Oppo analogue output to one of Marantz analogue input achieved the same thing?.

Or he is not happy with Marantz sound for music?


Offline sevenz

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2708
  • home theatre lover :D
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #20 on: September 10, 2020, 09:45 »
Thanks for chipping in :) pls see replies below:

More clarity needed....

Will there be additional speakers or cd player added to the 2 channel integrated amp setup? [no additional speakers and no separate CD player. His front speaker is used for both HT and music duties. The only source is Oppo BD player.]

There are zone2 & front pre-outs from the AVR, why not add a power amp & leverage on the AVR pre-amp instead? [for music, we want to try to avoid going thru the AVR circuit as the AVR's components, DAC is usually not as good as the Oppo and the 2 channel amp. To miminise any conversion/additional path needed too]

I am not sure, but would connecting Oppo analogue output to one of Marantz analogue input achieved the same thing?. [See above reply on avoiding AVR as a path for music]

Or he is not happy with Marantz sound for music?

Second , is there or going to add in CD player or 2 ch source ? [no additional speakers and no separate CD player. His front speaker is used for both HT and music duties. The only source is Oppo BD player.][/color]
« Last Edit: September 10, 2020, 09:49 by sevenz »

Offline sevenz

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2708
  • home theatre lover :D
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #21 on: September 10, 2020, 09:52 »
Since 90% is music usage, sell the avr and change to 2.1 channel...still cater to the 10% movie with good bass?

Thanks for this. Very good suggestion. Maybe something to explore in future. :)

At the moment, he still want to keep the HT for his movie watching and have support via the AVR for the movie sound formats.

Offline sevenz

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2708
  • home theatre lover :D
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #22 on: September 10, 2020, 09:56 »
This one is no go, I think.
AVR pre out needs to go directly to power amp (HT bypass), not to other input with pre amp in the chain.

Thanks. Maybe I was not clear, it doens't go into the other input with pre-amp in the chain.

AVR preout (front speakers) goes to the 2nd pair of inputs of the RCA switch. Then, the RCA switch's RCA output is connected to the 2 channel amp's RCA input.

Hope this will work?
« Last Edit: September 10, 2020, 10:01 by sevenz »

Online kinger

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 388
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #23 on: September 10, 2020, 10:56 »
Thanks. Maybe I was not clear, it doens't go into the other input with pre-amp in the chain.

AVR preout (front speakers) goes to the 2nd pair of inputs of the RCA switch. Then, the RCA switch's RCA output is connected to the 2 channel amp's RCA input.

Hope this will work?

Ask, does the oppo player output hdmi & rca line out simultaneously? If yes, connect hdmi to AVR and rca line out to int amp.

bottleneck is at speaker cabling end...speaker cable switch box is bad imho

cheers

Offline synthesis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 4872
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #24 on: September 10, 2020, 11:23 »
Then, the RCA switch's RCA output is connected to the 2 channel amp's RCA input.

Will the 2ch RCA input bypass the pre amp section of the stereo amp and directly goes to the power amp section? If yes then ok. If not and you still can control the volume from the stereo amp then you should not use this connection.

Offline synthesis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 4872
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #25 on: September 10, 2020, 11:27 »
bottleneck is at speaker cabling end...speaker cable switch box is bad imho

There are so many switches inside the equipment: input switch, power switch.... what different is with another one  :D

Offline sevenz

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2708
  • home theatre lover :D
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #26 on: September 10, 2020, 11:43 »
Will the 2ch RCA input bypass the pre amp section of the stereo amp and directly goes to the power amp section? If yes then ok. If not and you still can control the volume from the stereo amp then you should not use this connection.

If I am not wrong, it depends if the stereo amp has a pre-amp section. If it's just a power amp, the pre-amp can be the Oppo?

Online kinger

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 388
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #27 on: September 10, 2020, 12:11 »

There are so many switches inside the equipment: input switch, power switch.... what different is with another one  :D

for 2 channel, i based on less is more theory... ;D

Online kinger

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 388
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #28 on: September 10, 2020, 12:27 »
If I am not wrong, it depends if the stereo amp has a pre-amp section. If it's just a power amp, the pre-amp can be the Oppo?

correct me if i'm wrong, i think you confused pre-amp out to rca line out...

Does oppo have the ability to control the volume output aka pre-amp out available on it? i believe most players have only rca line out

pre-amp out = volume adjustable output and rca line out = full volume output non-adjustable

Offline sevenz

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2708
  • home theatre lover :D
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #29 on: September 10, 2020, 12:30 »
Dang. I think i forgot one thing! :(

His dual subs! If I use HT bypass amp or switch method to avoid avr path, it will bypass his subs.

Is there any way I can include his subs for the music path (ie. Playing music via stereo amp) yet avoiding avr's circuit?

Djblack and ronil - do u know if I can deploy a similar rca switch (separate switch) too to connect the subs for music listening with the oppo?
« Last Edit: September 10, 2020, 13:06 by sevenz »

Offline sevenz

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2708
  • home theatre lover :D
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #30 on: September 10, 2020, 12:32 »
correct me if i'm wrong, i think you confused pre-amp out to rca line out...

Does oppo have the ability to control the volume output aka pre-amp out available on it? i believe most players have only rca line out

pre-amp out = volume adjustable output and rca line out = full volume output non-adjustable

My bad if it caused confusion.

Yes oppo has digital vol control within it.

Online kinger

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 388
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #31 on: September 10, 2020, 12:35 »
Dang. I think i forgot one thing! :(

His dual subs! If I use HT bypass amp or switch method, it will bypass his subs.

Is there any way I can include his subs for the music path (ie. Playing music via stereo amp) yet avoiding avr's circuit?

can speak to marantz? just saying.... ;D

Offline wcseow

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 666
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #32 on: September 12, 2020, 20:50 »
Came across this. Another means to have 2 amps shared a set of speakers. But does not cater for ur sub.😁

https://www.amazon.com/TC-7220-Amplifier-Selector-Comparator-Crossover/dp/B00LNOAGZQ?ref_=d6k_applink_bb_marketplace

Offline sevenz

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2708
  • home theatre lover :D
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #33 on: September 12, 2020, 21:12 »
Came across this. Another means to have 2 amps shared a set of speakers. But does not cater for ur sub.😁

https://www.amazon.com/TC-7220-Amplifier-Selector-Comparator-Crossover/dp/B00LNOAGZQ?ref_=d6k_applink_bb_marketplace

Thankful bro.

For the sub, i think possible can use the rca switch. Cos the oppo has a sub preout.

Maybe avr sub preout and the oppo sub preout goes to the rca switch? Will this work? :)

Offline wcseow

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 666
Re: Suggestions for a used stereo/ 2 ch amp w HT bypass?
« Reply #34 on: September 12, 2020, 22:14 »
Thankful bro.

For the sub, i think possible can use the rca switch. Cos the oppo has a sub preout.

Maybe avr sub preout and the oppo sub preout goes to the rca switch? Will this work? :)

It should work but i guess you have to deal with the volume control as you would not want to change the gain settings on the sub itself.

Also not sure whether it will cause the sub to "groan" whenever it is switched assuming the sub is power on all the time.😁

Another thing to take note is the rca switch actually switch both leads (dual pole).

Sorry if I could not offer more. Lol

 

SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal