Author Topic: Muscial Paradise Mark 701 Mark II tube preamp  (Read 2125 times)

Offline Ram18

• Trade Count: (0)
Muscial Paradise Mark 701 Mark II tube preamp
« on: July 12, 2020, 13:14 »
Hi All

Am new to this Forum. Hoping to get new insights and connect with fellow audio enthusiasts here

I just pulled the plug on getting the  tube Musical Paradise 701 Mark II preamp. Its gonna arrive soon. There have not been many reviews about this but the few which I have come across had reviewed this preamp favourably. Its Canadian based design and assembled in China. It also allows for tube and cap rolls.

This will be a new experience for me on two fronts.  I am new to the concept of a preamp and am gonna use tubes for the first time. Currently am having Klipsch 6000f RP speakers, Marantz CD/SACD player a bluesound node 2i for streaming and XTZ A2 300 Class D power amp. These are my connections for stereo.  Was previously using my Onkyo RZ 830 AVR for movies and stereo but now decided to get a dedicated preamp to go separates for stereo and keep the Onkyo AVR purely for movies. Hope this decision leads me to better audio experience. I decided to go for a tube preamp as I guess I wish for a more holographic emotional feel and added soundstage to match my  clear and detailed as well as bass punch sonic feel of my Class D power amp. I understand the MP 701 is more of a neutral  with slightly or hint of warm which suits my taste. Not into too warm amps which supresses clarity and details.

I wish to seek your opinion of those who have used tubes; on what would be a good match to the sonic  preference I have stated. Am looking at 12AU7 tubes. The amp can take the following tubes:

6.3V signal tubes: 6N11, 6N1P, E88CC, E188CC, CCA, 6922, 6H23, 6H6, 6H30, (6SN7 with 6SN7 to 6922 adapter).

4. 12.6V signal tubes: 12AU7, 12BH7, E80CC, (12SN7 with 6SN7 to 6922 adapter).