Author Topic: Advice needed - next for my HT setup, stream, NAS storage etc.  (Read 1299 times)

Offline wcseow

• Trade Count: (0)
With the main HT setup completed, I am now ready to move to the next set of eqpt. Admittedly, this portion is the one I am most unfamiliar with. So apologies if it is a repeated thread.

I think it is best I list down what I have and then what I will like to achieve and appreciate fellow forum members can advise

Dedicated HT Room - XBox One X, Panny UB820, PS4,JVC Projector,
Living HT Room - Xbox One S, PS4 Pro, Samsung TV
Bedroom 1 - Xbox One S, PS4, Samsung TV
Bedroom 2 - Akan Datang TV

What I will like to achieve
1. Archiving/ripping my Blurays (not UHD) and hopefully of which can be played in the various rooms
2. Archiving/ripping my CDs (legacy collection), to be played in HT Room and Living Room
3  My wife request to watch PRC serials.....(VIU subscription done to meet her korean serials need, lol)

Note that I am really a super noob here, not using a computer for 7 years should give an indication of my literacy or lack of. LOL

After reading and some "interviewing", I gather below is might be needed?
a. Storage - NAS (Asustor 6404) or those media player like Zidoo that supports internal HDDs
b. Media Player - Can the Xbox One S/X or UB820 be used or need something like the Zidoo etc
c. A full fledge notebook?

Thanks
« Last Edit: March 15, 2020, 14:32 by wcseow »

Offline wcseow

If i am using Zidoo or Zappiti players only, then transcoding is bit required on the NAS, is that right?

I was looking at Asustor 6404 buy then realised for that price, I could get a QNAP 431 bundle with drives

Offline InnocentBlood

• Trade Count: (+4)