Author Topic: No sound from rear surround speakers while playing dolby atmos disc  (Read 1451 times)

Offline justDaniel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Snr Member
  • Posts: 53
I am having 7.1 channel bi-amp setup. Two front speakers, one center, two front height, two side surround and two back surround.
While playing UHD disc(Endgame) from Sony X800, I press the info shows all active speakers except two rear speakers.
Successfully did an Audyssey calibration and tested the tone from all speakers are working properly. I tried all settings but still the same - no sound from rear speakers.
Am I doing something wrong?

Offline chaozhoi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1610
Were there any sound coming from ur rear speakers? Press info from ur avr do u see ur rear speakers active?

Sent from my Mi A1 using Tapatalk


Offline pcking

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1914
  • I'm just an audio/video enthusiast!
Which AVR are you using ?

Based on your description you have a total of
Front Bi-amp = 4 channels
Front height = 2 channels
Side surround = 2 channels
Back surround = 2 channels
Center = 1 channel

11 channels.

If you are not using any external power amps, your AVR needs to have 11 active powered channels.
"The worse of the two is he who, when abused, retaliates. One who does not retaliate wins a battle hard to win."

Offline justDaniel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Snr Member
  • Posts: 53
I am using Marantz SR 7011.
I setup according to the manual.
When I press info. in the remote control, the input shows only Dolby Atmos.
No diagram to show how many channel of input.

Offline justDaniel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Snr Member
  • Posts: 53
Were there any sound coming from ur rear speakers? Press info from ur avr do u see ur rear speakers active?

Sent from my Mi A1 using Tapatalk

When I press info. only rear surround speakers are not active.
The rest are actives

Offline pcking

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1914
  • I'm just an audio/video enthusiast!
Try to execute the test tones to check if the connections are correct.
"The worse of the two is he who, when abused, retaliates. One who does not retaliate wins a battle hard to win."

Online petetherock

  • Trade Count: (+8)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 21981
  • Sidere Mens Eadem Mutato
    • My Music, Movie and Equipment Musings...
When I press info. only rear surround speakers are not active.
The rest are actives
+1
When you do a test tone, you should know if there is any sound.. you can download this..
Please post instead of sending a pm, so more can learn.

My gear:
http://peteswrite.blogspot.com/2019/04/my-setup-42019.html

Offline pcking

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1914
  • I'm just an audio/video enthusiast!
Not necessary to download test tones.
Can execute manually inside the AVR menu - Manual setup - levels.
There should be test tones playback for you to adjust the levels.
"The worse of the two is he who, when abused, retaliates. One who does not retaliate wins a battle hard to win."

Offline justDaniel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Snr Member
  • Posts: 53
I did the test tone and every speakers tested have sound.
Even while playing the disc, I did the test tone all speakers tested with sound.
But when switch back to movie the info shows rear speakers not active

Offline pcking

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1914
  • I'm just an audio/video enthusiast!
Try switching to other Movie Sound modes to hear if the rear surrounds come on.
"The worse of the two is he who, when abused, retaliates. One who does not retaliate wins a battle hard to win."

Offline justDaniel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Snr Member
  • Posts: 53
I tried that still the same.
I did not purchase the Auro 3D so can't test.

Offline pcking

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1914
  • I'm just an audio/video enthusiast!
Does it only happen when the source is D Atmos?
What about when source is DD or DTS ?
"The worse of the two is he who, when abused, retaliates. One who does not retaliate wins a battle hard to win."

Offline justDaniel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Snr Member
  • Posts: 53
Tested DTS and the same result.
No sound from rear surround speakers

Offline chaozhoi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1610
Any menu from ur avr that looks like that? It shows in and out. Ur Blu-ray info might only be showing what it is outputting

Sent from my Mi A1 using Tapatalk


Offline justDaniel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Snr Member
  • Posts: 53
Yes the menu look like this except that the "Input Signal" does not show diagram but the word "Dolby Atmos"
The output active speakers shows all but not the rear surround speakers

Offline chaozhoi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1610
Any problem with other discs or movie?

Sent from my Mi A1 using Tapatalk


Offline justDaniel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Snr Member
  • Posts: 53
I had tried a few disc only.
This issue started when I added two side surround speakers to my setup.
All the while my setup is 7.1 speakers with the rear surround speakers plug into the side surround speakers port.
Could it be that I have to setup according to 9.1 setup?
But when I do Audyssey calibration everything went smooth.

Offline rayleh

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 914
Take a look at the amp assign option and make sure it is correct.

Offline justDaniel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Snr Member
  • Posts: 53
Initial when I added the two rear surround speakers and do the Audyssey calibration, no rear speakers were detected because I had set to skip the two speakers measurement. I corrected it and calibration done smoothly. Tested it with the test tone.
Maybe I should try reset and re-calibrate.

Offline chaozhoi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1610
I had similar issue previously. Ended up was wrong amp assignment issue. Calibration and test tone no problem but rear surround no sound.
Are u using any power amp?

Sent from my Mi A1 using Tapatalk


Offline chaozhoi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1610
http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=63019.msg1271295.msg#1271295

This was my issue. But it was on a Denon. Hope it helps

Base on ur setup, u r likely trying to use 11 channels which the receiver can only support 9 channel amplification. Try removing the biamp for ur mains and recalibrate to see if it works

Sent from my Mi A1 using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: December 05, 2019, 14:55 by chaozhoi »

Offline justDaniel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Snr Member
  • Posts: 53
I will try to remove it and re-calibrate. Thanks

Offline Jag

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10825
Re-setup with out biamping.
Electronics : Denon 7200, MiniDSP Dirac 88A, Emotiva XPA-5 Gen2
ATMOS Audio : Martin Logan Ethos (L&R), ML Motif X(C), ML Motion 4 (14pcs surround spkrs)
LFE : Dual Rythmik FV25HP & Crowson Motion Actuator
Video : Sony VPL-HW55ES, Stewart Screen Studiotek 1.3
Source : HTPC
Fully automated HT via Alexa, Z-wave and Logitech Harmony Remote Control

Offline whitesox

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1298
Re-setup with out biamping.

+1
... and use test tone to confirm on your spk assignment (spk layout) and also on your built-in amp.
(don't bother about audy calibration at this moment)
« Last Edit: December 05, 2019, 19:50 by whitesox »

Offline econav

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 6235
You must check and set your layout , when you run thru the test tone not just hv sound come out , but to also ensure if it indicate on the spk channel SBL and the sound come out from the correct Surround Back Left spk and so on....
http://manuals.marantz.com/SR7011/NA/EN/UJDCSYbmaurycf.php
We are not second hand dealer , all items we sell as used are tradedin from our customer and we don't rate it condition but for the buyer to decide on it own.
From time to time we may sell off some New but open up used for rental/standby/loan items and to ensure they cant be sold as Brand new , we will dispose off the box.
all post
http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?action=profile;area=showposts;u=2968
Service & collection : Block 1085 #03-36 Eunos Ave 7A  whatsapp 96387418 to arrange

Offline justDaniel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Snr Member
  • Posts: 53
You must check and set your layout , when you run thru the test tone not just hv sound come out , but to also ensure if it indicate on the spk channel SBL and the sound come out from the correct Surround Back Left spk and so on....
http://manuals.marantz.com/SR7011/NA/EN/UJDCSYbmaurycf.php

My setup is according to the Marantz SR 7011 manual.
Initially, I did plugged the side surround into the rear surround port but realized the mistake during Audyssey calibration.
Corrected it and smoothly run Audyssesy calibration.
I will remove the bi-amp connection and re-calibrate over the weekend.

Thanks for all the advise.


Offline Doggie Howser

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 21904
I am having 7.1 channel bi-amp setup. Two front speakers, one center, two front height, two side surround and two back surround.
While playing UHD disc(Endgame) from Sony X800, I press the info shows all active speakers except two rear speakers.
Successfully did an Audyssey calibration and tested the tone from all speakers are working properly. I tried all settings but still the same - no sound from rear speakers.
Am I doing something wrong?

YES you are doing something wrong.

Just do the math.

You said it is a 7.1 amplifier. Power for 7 channels.

You have how many speakers?

"Two front speakers, one center, two front height, two side surround and two back surround."

2+ 1 + 2 + 2 + 2 = 9 channels.

2 short.

Now you want to run bi-amping - that means you need 11 channels. So 4 short.

The Marantz will support 9.1 with biamping - but you gotta assign the internal amps correctly and get external power amps to make up all 11 channels.

For my money, I'd just forgo bi-amping. The quality of amps in a mid/entry level AVR is not really going to cut it.

Save the money. Get an Emotiva XPA2/3 and run the front L/R (or LCR if you got XPA3), and forget bi-amping. The Emotiva amp will outperform all the internal amps of the Marantz.

Now the 7 amps in the Marantz can be allocated to Atmos, surround, surround back (6 channels plus one spare).

For my money, I'd rather take 4 Atmos (ie 5.1.4) vs 2 Atmos (7.1.2)

End of Line - Derezzed

Offline desray

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19713
  • Bring the "Cinema experience" back home...
No sound from rear surround speakers while playing dolby atmos disc
« Reply #27 on: December 06, 2019, 13:29 »
JustDaniels, you are confusing yourself. Take a deep breath. All you need to do is to undo the bi-amping for your fronts and follow the Amp assign segment of the AVR in accordance. Refer to the terminal diagram unde the Amp Assign segments to have a better idea how the speaker connection goes. It is really not that hard.

BTW If you think this is gonna make a big difference by bi-amping using a AVR, you will be disappointed. If you really must, get a good power amp to do it. Once that done, re-run Audyssey again.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline justDaniel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Snr Member
  • Posts: 53
YES you are doing something wrong.

Just do the math.

You said it is a 7.1 amplifier. Power for 7 channels.

You have how many speakers?

"Two front speakers, one center, two front height, two side surround and two back surround."

2+ 1 + 2 + 2 + 2 = 9 channels.

2 short.

Now you want to run bi-amping - that means you need 11 channels. So 4 short.

The Marantz will support 9.1 with biamping - but you gotta assign the internal amps correctly and get external power amps to make up all 11 channels.

For my money, I'd just forgo bi-amping. The quality of amps in a mid/entry level AVR is not really going to cut it.

Save the money. Get an Emotiva XPA2/3 and run the front L/R (or LCR if you got XPA3), and forget bi-amping. The Emotiva amp will outperform all the internal amps of the Marantz.

Now the 7 amps in the Marantz can be allocated to Atmos, surround, surround back (6 channels plus one spare).

For my money, I'd rather take 4 Atmos (ie 5.1.4) vs 2 Atmos (7.1.2)

What you say make sense, especially the no. of channel vs the amp capability.
The Marantz manual is very confusing as it stated that 7.1 bi-amp is possible with all 9 speakers but did not mentioned the build-in amp is not sufficient to power all 9 channels.

I have an old AVR - Yamaha RX-V2090 which I intend to use it as an external amp to power the main speakers.
I going to experiment with this old AVR with bi-amp and without bi-amp.

Thanks guys

Offline justDaniel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Snr Member
  • Posts: 53
JustDaniels, you are confusing yourself. Take a deep breath. All you need to do is to undo the bi-amping for your fronts and follow the Amp assign segment of the AVR in accordance. Refer to the terminal diagram unde the Amp Assign segments to have a better idea how the speaker connection goes. It is really not that hard.

BTW If you think this is gonna make a big difference by bi-amping using a AVR, you will be disappointed. If you really must, get a good power amp to do it. Once that done, re-run Audyssey again.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My bi-amp is not powering the build-in tweeter of my tower speakers.
I have a very big tweeter place on top of my tower speakers.
It sounded great when listening to music that is why I bi-amp.
I will try to use my old AVR and experiment it.

Thanks for all the advise.


 

Offline Doggie Howser

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 21904
The Marantz manual is very confusing as it stated that 7.1 bi-amp is possible with all 9 speakers but did not mentioned the build-in amp is not sufficient to power all 9 channels.

In the manual

page 55

"o 9.1-channel playback
This system, which is based on a 5.1-channel system, plays back up to 9.1-channels at the same time.
You can connect speakers for up to 11-channels for MAIN ZONE. When you connect speakers for 10 or more channels, the output speakers
automatically switch according to the input signal and sound mode."

For the biamp section... it is restricted to 7.1 (page 70)

"o 7.1-channel playback (bi-amp connection of front speakers)
This system plays back 7.1-channels. You can use the bi-amp connection for front speakers. Bi-amp connection is a method to connect separate
amplifiers to the tweeter terminal and woofer terminal of a speaker that supports bi-amplification. This connection enables back EMF (power returned
without being output) from the woofer to flow into the tweeter without affecting the sound quality, producing a higher sound quality.
You can connect speakers for up to 9-channels for MAIN ZONE. When you connect speakers for 8 or more channels, the output speakers
automatically switch according to the input signal and sound mode."

so basically it will mute the extra channels - which is what you experienced.




I have an old AVR - Yamaha RX-V2090 which I intend to use it as an external amp to power the main speakers.
I going to experiment with this old AVR with bi-amp and without bi-amp.

Actually that's probably a better amp than in the new AVRs. I'd use it to biamp your front speakers.. maybe even the centre.

End of Line - Derezzed

Offline desray

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19713
  • Bring the "Cinema experience" back home...
My bi-amp is not powering the build-in tweeter of my tower speakers.
I have a very big tweeter place on top of my tower speakers.
It sounded great when listening to music that is why I bi-amp.
I will try to use my old AVR and experiment it.

Thanks for all the advise.
I see...

For any 9.1 channels, it is always tricky when it comes to connection. In the past, I'm using Denon X7200WA which is also a 9.2 channels. I don't do any bi-amping but I do need an extra 2 channels to power up my extra pair of Dolby Atmos speakers if i wish to implement 7.2.4 which is 11.2 channels. With bi-amping, the AVR will switch automatically the speaker layout depending on how you connect the speakers to the AVR.

Sent from my SM-T860 using Tapatalk


Offline justDaniel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Snr Member
  • Posts: 53
I have removed the bi-amp and setup as 9.1 and it work. All speakers are active during Dolby Atmos playback. Front tower speakers sounded less dynamics compare to previous setup. Next chapter, I will use my old amp to power my front speakers.
Thanks for all the advise

Offline chaozhoi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1610
I have removed the bi-amp and setup as 9.1 and it work. All speakers are active during Dolby Atmos playback. Front tower speakers sounded less dynamics compare to previous setup. Next chapter, I will use my old amp to power my front speakers.
Thanks for all the advise
Congrats and enjoy

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk