Author Topic: Circuit Breaker  (Read 180 times)

Offline benhu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 147
Circuit Breaker
« on: September 14, 2019, 16:09 »

My HDB block is under HIP and the incoming power from the Govt. will be upgraded to 40Amp from 30Amp.

My Circuit Breaker was HDB installed since 1984 since block was built.

I need recommendation for a suitable Circuit Breaker to replace the existing one.
I have a Mitsubishi Starmex Aircon serving 3 bedrooms and also 2 Instant Water Heaters.
I have a dedicated LINE; added 3 years ago,from the Circuit Breaker to a Wall socket from where I have a Distributor for my HiFi components.

I was told by the HIP electrician that the cables and boxes outside every Unit of the the block is using Hager brand.

I understand Hager also have Circuit Breaker products.

Can any brother recommend a Safe and Suitable Circuit breaker.

By the way does a contractor need to apply to HDB for approval for the change and does the shop selling the product recommend a contractor for the job which makes things easier.

Thank you.

Offline wizardofoz

  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 12675
  • Dont take life so seriously, nobody gets out alive
Re: Circuit Breaker
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2019, 18:23 »
CB is normally provided by the guys doing the upgrade IIRC.
I have a pile of stuff that pushes out squiggly waveforms from smaller squiggly waveforms that sometimes come from 1's and 0's.
It's wonderful to behold as long as you don't let the magic smoke out.

Life is short! Enjoy the music while it plays, when it stops, there might be a chair for you...or  maybe not.

Offline Esquire

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 133
Re: Circuit Breaker
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2019, 21:17 »
Mine is ABB RCCB 40amp, tripping sensitivity is 30mA

« Last Edit: September 14, 2019, 22:11 by Esquire »

Offline synthesis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 4775
Re: Circuit Breaker
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2019, 21:51 »
I don't quite understand the question.
Anyway, the HIP contractor will change the parts outside the flat as necessary. You don't need to arrange contractor or buy anything. Nothing will be changed inside for HIP. 

Offline benhu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 147
Re: Circuit Breaker
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2019, 22:10 »
I don't quite understand the question.
Anyway, the HIP contractor will change the parts outside the flat as necessary. You don't need to arrange contractor or buy anything. Nothing will be changed inside for HIP.

Its not outside of my unit but my house Circuit Breaker.