Author Topic: Recommendation for NAS  (Read 3980 times)

Offline Audiolab

• Trade Count: (+4)
Recommendation for NAS
« on: March 04, 2019, 09:52 »
Dear All,

Need some advice on setting up NAS as I am a total noob when it comes to NAS. Main usage will be for backup and partially for sharing of photos, videos and maybe streaming of HD and 4K movies to my Oppo 203 and Apple TV. Computer operating system will be on Mac OS.

I have narrowed down my choice to 2 or maybe 3 choices.

1. Synology DS218Play
2. Synology DS418Play
3. Synology DS918+

For futureproof, I am incline towards DS418Play. However, the price difference between DS918+ and DS418Play is not significant and it comes with additional 2gb ram and 1 year warranty (3 years vs 2 years based on overseas website info).

As for configuration, I am inclined towards Raid 1 for safe backup (just use 2 bays) but was recommended to try Raid 5 (3 bays) which will maximize speed and also gain more "Storage" vs Raid 1.

Last question is on hard disk. WD Red or Seagate Ironwolf?

Any experts or users of Synology can provide any recommendation?

Thanks in advance!

Offline wizardofoz

• Trade Count: (+23)
  • Dont take life so seriously, nobody gets out alive
Re: Recommendation for NAS
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2019, 11:18 »
Of all those I would use 918+ use raid 5 and the last slot for a backup disk if you are paranoid - one that you put in to make a full backup then remove once its done.

then again. raid 5 is rather out dated as now you can get 12TB+ drives unless you need massive storage.

I prefer HGST drives
I have a pile of stuff that pushes out squiggly waveforms from smaller squiggly waveforms that sometimes come from 1's and 0's.
It's wonderful to behold as long as you don't let the magic smoke out.

Life is short! Enjoy the music while it plays, when it stops, there might be a chair for you...or  maybe not.

Offline Audiolab

« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2019, 11:22 »