Author Topic: Fibre set top box  (Read 8100 times)

Offline whyeme

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2764
Re: Fibre set top box
« Reply #105 on: March 12, 2019, 10:14 »
Amazon USA

Thks. Is it the Motorola MM1000?
Hall: Philips 65PFA4350/98. W4S mAMP monoblocks. Emotiva UMC-200/UPA-500. Oppo BDT-101CI. SB Acoustics ARA Matt White. Dynaudio Contour SCX Gloss Black. Dynaudio Audience 42. Orisun DD+12. Velodyne SPL 1000 Ultra. DSPeaker Antimode 8033 S. Belden Studio 814. IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155. Zidoo H6 Pro.

Bedroom: Plinius 2100i. Wharfedale Diamond 10.1. iFi Micro iDSD. IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155. Belden Studio 814.

Headfi: Phonak Audeo PFE012 Grey Filters. Penon Audio OS849. LG V30+.

Offline Audiolab

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1309
Re: Fibre set top box
« Reply #106 on: March 12, 2019, 10:16 »
Thks. Is it the Motorola MM1000?

Yes. If you have Amazon Prime Singapore, they have Actiontec locally. But will be more expensive. But 2 hours delivery.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Audio

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 7978
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Re: Fibre set top box
« Reply #107 on: March 12, 2019, 16:37 »
Which is better?  Actiontec or Motorola?

(Audio)

Offline Audiolab

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1309
Re: Fibre set top box
« Reply #108 on: March 12, 2019, 16:48 »
I can’t comment as I did not compare both. To be a fair comparison, it should be compared in the same house since the existing coaxial network might impact performance.

For me, I am happy with morotola as minimal speed drop and it’s cheaper, so it’s a no brainer. It also, comes with a POE filter, lan cable and coaxial cable. Value for money!

Which is better?  Actiontec or Motorola?

(Audio)


Offline whyeme

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2764
Re: Fibre set top box
« Reply #109 on: March 14, 2019, 08:13 »
Thanks for the help Audiolab :)
Hall: Philips 65PFA4350/98. W4S mAMP monoblocks. Emotiva UMC-200/UPA-500. Oppo BDT-101CI. SB Acoustics ARA Matt White. Dynaudio Contour SCX Gloss Black. Dynaudio Audience 42. Orisun DD+12. Velodyne SPL 1000 Ultra. DSPeaker Antimode 8033 S. Belden Studio 814. IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155. Zidoo H6 Pro.

Bedroom: Plinius 2100i. Wharfedale Diamond 10.1. iFi Micro iDSD. IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155. Belden Studio 814.

Headfi: Phonak Audeo PFE012 Grey Filters. Penon Audio OS849. LG V30+.

Offline Audiolab

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1309
Re: Fibre set top box
« Reply #110 on: March 15, 2019, 09:40 »
Final update on the Motorola MoCA adapters. Another 2 adapters arrived yesterday from Amazon USA and now the house is fully "wired" through coaxial network using MoCA technology.

I manage to match the individual cable in the electrical riser to the points in the respective rooms. Therefore I only need a 1 to 3 MoCA splitter to connect the whole network together. All points tested working with minimal drop versus connection to router. So far did not experience any drop off signal as well.

Overall very happy, manage to now setup a proper network without pulling LAN cables all around the house which will be too messy and ugly!

Offline Audiolab

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1309
Re: Fibre set top box
« Reply #111 on: March 15, 2019, 09:47 »
Speedtest result in my study room.

First MoCa box to pump signal into the coaxial network is in living room.

Both MoCA adapters in Living and Study Room are connected through Ethernet switches and not directly to the MoCA adapters as I need more
LAN points. So result is definitely satisfactory when going through so many routing.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline whyeme

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2764
Re: Fibre set top box
« Reply #112 on: March 15, 2019, 23:13 »
wow great results audiolab! grats!
Hall: Philips 65PFA4350/98. W4S mAMP monoblocks. Emotiva UMC-200/UPA-500. Oppo BDT-101CI. SB Acoustics ARA Matt White. Dynaudio Contour SCX Gloss Black. Dynaudio Audience 42. Orisun DD+12. Velodyne SPL 1000 Ultra. DSPeaker Antimode 8033 S. Belden Studio 814. IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155. Zidoo H6 Pro.

Bedroom: Plinius 2100i. Wharfedale Diamond 10.1. iFi Micro iDSD. IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155. Belden Studio 814.

Headfi: Phonak Audeo PFE012 Grey Filters. Penon Audio OS849. LG V30+.

Offline Audiolab

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1309
Re: Fibre set top box
« Reply #113 on: March 16, 2019, 08:32 »
Thanks! Very happy with the results without the ugly cabling.

wow great results audiolab! grats!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline qflyer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 590
Re: Fibre set top box
« Reply #114 on: March 20, 2019, 22:29 »
The Samsung settop box no good la.... the menu is supper difficult to navigate. Real F - up
I will ask for a for a different settop box if they have one.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2019, 22:32 by qflyer »

Offline whyeme

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2764
Re: Fibre set top box
« Reply #115 on: March 21, 2019, 10:36 »
Any Bros know of any good reasonably priced electrician/technician good at testing my old flat's built in coaxial cables ( which are more than 10 yrs old) performance & who can also recommend best route for me to take when I'm forced from cable broadband to fibre in june?

My flat is fully wired with coaxial outlets in all rooms but there are lots of built in cabinets and cornices. Headache. Looking for minimum drilling. Many thanks
« Last Edit: March 21, 2019, 10:41 by whyeme »
Hall: Philips 65PFA4350/98. W4S mAMP monoblocks. Emotiva UMC-200/UPA-500. Oppo BDT-101CI. SB Acoustics ARA Matt White. Dynaudio Contour SCX Gloss Black. Dynaudio Audience 42. Orisun DD+12. Velodyne SPL 1000 Ultra. DSPeaker Antimode 8033 S. Belden Studio 814. IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155. Zidoo H6 Pro.

Bedroom: Plinius 2100i. Wharfedale Diamond 10.1. iFi Micro iDSD. IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155. Belden Studio 814.

Headfi: Phonak Audeo PFE012 Grey Filters. Penon Audio OS849. LG V30+.

Offline synthesis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 4736
Re: Fibre set top box
« Reply #116 on: March 21, 2019, 11:03 »
The new wiring will not be using coax cable anymore. Starhub will lay new Ethernet wiring for you. You may have to live with new cable conduit.

Offline Audiolab

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1309
Re: Fibre set top box
« Reply #117 on: March 21, 2019, 11:18 »
The electrician can only test whether the point is still working or not. They can’t test performance like speed unless u get 2 Moca box to try.

To test whether the point is still working or not, the electrician or yourself just need to use your current cable setup box and connect to the point. However, u need also a tv to display pictures which can be challenging.

My house is close to 20 years and the coaxial point still run very well. To me, the coaxial cables are much more hardy than LAN cable. So I doubt there will be any issues.



Any Bros know of any good reasonably priced electrician/technician good at testing my old flat's built in coaxial cables ( which are more than 10 yrs old) performance & who can also recommend best route for me to take when I'm forced from cable broadband to fibre in june?

My flat is fully wired with coaxial outlets in all rooms but there are lots of built in cabinets and cornices. Headache. Looking for minimum drilling. Many thanks



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline whyeme

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2764
Re: Fibre set top box
« Reply #118 on: March 21, 2019, 21:43 »
Bro synthesis, I'm looking at using MOCA to minimise drilling or new trunking conduits.

Bro Audiolab, thanks for your sharing :)
Hall: Philips 65PFA4350/98. W4S mAMP monoblocks. Emotiva UMC-200/UPA-500. Oppo BDT-101CI. SB Acoustics ARA Matt White. Dynaudio Contour SCX Gloss Black. Dynaudio Audience 42. Orisun DD+12. Velodyne SPL 1000 Ultra. DSPeaker Antimode 8033 S. Belden Studio 814. IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155. Zidoo H6 Pro.

Bedroom: Plinius 2100i. Wharfedale Diamond 10.1. iFi Micro iDSD. IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155. Belden Studio 814.

Headfi: Phonak Audeo PFE012 Grey Filters. Penon Audio OS849. LG V30+.

Offline qflyer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 590
Re: Fibre set top box
« Reply #119 on: March 22, 2019, 17:37 »
Why can’t I connect my pc to the nucleus box port for internet access? I have tried before but it hasn’t worked. Any ideas why?