Author Topic: HiMedia Q5/Q10 Pro 4K HDR Review  (Read 39040 times)

Offline sigurros

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1716
  • "What we think, we become"
Re: HiMedia Q5 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #45 on: November 28, 2017, 16:19 »
Just bought my second Q10 Pro for S$169 in Lazada, just received and the set and it come with Android N, applied DIY full blu-ray menu firmware and it worked. Good pricing and Good player. Only problem is some of my folders in my Qnap still can't access. Strange?

How did you manage to get at $169?

Cheapest I saw was 201$

Offline ptey

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 717
Re: HiMedia Q5 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #46 on: November 28, 2017, 16:24 »
How did you manage to get at $169?

Cheapest I saw was 201$

I was S$184 - 15 credit card discount. I think it is Citibank discount so I took the it.

Offline Sunblock

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2340
Re: HiMedia Q5 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #47 on: November 28, 2017, 17:51 »
I saw some aliexpress seller advertising the Q10 pro as running android 7.0. Himedia already release updates for it?

Yes .. official updates available sometime ago.

Offline Sunblock

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2340
Re: HiMedia Q5 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #48 on: November 28, 2017, 17:54 »
Wow very good price!

I have similar weird problem too after kodi scan will not see half of my folders under the same root directory. Don't understand why. But when i manually browse using media browser everything is available.

Sent from my S8 using Tapatalk

Bypassed this problem by first accessing SAMBA for that directory before toggle back and it is okay.
Definitely a minor bug which needs to fix in the wrapper for Kodi.

Offline sigurros

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1716
  • "What we think, we become"
Re: HiMedia Q5 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #49 on: November 28, 2017, 20:00 »
Bro Sunblock,

Am comparing both this and the nvidia shield,

You know any pros and cons between the 2?

Thanks

Offline whitesox

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1324
Re: HiMedia Q5 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #50 on: November 28, 2017, 20:57 »
Bro Sunblock,

Am comparing both this and the nvidia shield,

You know any pros and cons between the 2?

Thanks

yes bro... I also want to know

BTW, Have you watched 'WAR FOR THE PLANET OF THE APES'.... ?

I noticed WB of Egreat A10 is good and colour seems to be vivid but black level is too high (black become dominant) until wipe out ALL SHADOW.
(my AC-RyanHD3 produced more balance for the same movie)

Did you notice it on this player Himedia Q5/Q10 pro ?

Pls share your thoughts
 ::)

Offline Sunblock

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2340
Re: HiMedia Q5 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #51 on: November 28, 2017, 21:17 »
Bro Sigurros .... please check out Bro Despray's post #61

http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=260381.60

@whitesox  ...... I would rate the MIC media players picture quality just below or par with Dune and way below by a few notches for player using the Sigma chipset.

Will check it out if you can let me know which scene in the movie and also the media (remux or BD RAW) format ie 3D or BD or mkv
« Last Edit: November 28, 2017, 21:29 by Sunblock »

Offline whitesox

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1324
Re: HiMedia Q5 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #52 on: November 28, 2017, 23:51 »
Scene..
when army is attacking apes in their cave and Under ground and cave activities.

Play:
Bluray ISO file in 2D

Offline sigurros

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1716
  • "What we think, we become"
Re: HiMedia Q5 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #53 on: November 29, 2017, 08:25 »
Bro Sigurros .... please check out Bro Despray's post #61

http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=260381.60

@whitesox  ...... I would rate the MIC media players picture quality just below or par with Dune and way below by a few notches for player using the Sigma chipset.

Will check it out if you can let me know which scene in the movie and also the media (remux or BD RAW) format ie 3D or BD or mkv


Cheers bro.

Offline comfortablynumb

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 950
  • I'm a llama!
Re: HiMedia Q5 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #54 on: November 29, 2017, 09:31 »
ordered the Q5Pro due to limited space on the shelf in my room
for USD20 the Q10 would have been a better buy
If we call for the proof and we question the answers
Only the doubt will grow......
- Ammonia Avenue (Alan Parsons Project)

Offline sigurros

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1716
  • "What we think, we become"
Re: HiMedia Q5 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #55 on: November 29, 2017, 11:17 »
Bro Sunblock,

Am used to dune and PCH internal scraping for media.

For the q10, does it has one or need to use kodi or plex to it do so?

Offline Sunblock

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2340
Re: HiMedia Q5 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #56 on: November 29, 2017, 15:49 »
Bro Sunblock,

Am used to dune and PCH internal scraping for media.

For the q10, does it has one or need to use kodi or plex to it do so?

We use Zappiti in Dune; NMJ in PCH and Q10 uses Kodi (and this already pre-installed) and you just add the location where the media files are located and name them within Kodi like 3D folder, 4K folder, BD folder, Music Folder, etc which points to the respective network share or internal hdd.


Offline Sunblock

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2340
Re: HiMedia Q5 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #57 on: November 29, 2017, 17:08 »
Scene..
when army is attacking apes in their cave and Under ground and cave activities.

Play:
Bluray ISO file in 2D


Watched the first beginning part of the movie and was able to watch the details in the dark. You may be experiencing "black crash" ie tuning up brightness - the picture quality gets "flatter".

I think the settings on the media player is important just as important as your TV settings and they must match. If you use full space color setting at the TV end then use full color space for the media player as well. If there is a Auto option, use it. Reason I don't think the media player can auto-switch resolution on the fly ie watching a 1080 to 2160.

Likewise ... Kodi settings too.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2017, 17:10 by Sunblock »

Offline shk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 298
Re: HiMedia Q5 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #58 on: November 30, 2017, 22:33 »
Just received my Q10 pro from Lazada. The firmware version came with the box is 2.0.5. But I tried to update to the 2.0.6 version (from Himedia website) using USB somehow it says no update file detected ? Just wondering what is wrong. Different hardware version issue (china, international), how to tell ? The wrapper sucks. Can't get it to detect my NAS and other servers. Need to key in manually the IP and directory but certain folders either cannot detect or showing network error when accessing it. Now set default kodi as the default player at least from Kodi, all the servers can be detected. 

Edit : Rename the zip file from update_Q10pro.zip to update.zip and somehow it works.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2017, 23:51 by shk »

Offline Knight_Rider

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 9275
Re: HiMedia Q5 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #59 on: December 01, 2017, 10:44 »
SD card still not supported? Total storage increase but still show portable storage.

 

SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal