Author Topic: HiMedia Q5/Q10 Pro 4K HDR Review  (Read 22588 times)

Offline Sunblock

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2228
Re: HiMedia Q5/Q10 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #255 on: July 31, 2018, 17:27 »
Just realised that with the latest firmware, I still can't play 4K video on the pre-installed YouTube app in the player. Googled the futeko forum and the OGYoutube won't work anymore. Am I missing anything here?

First, Welcome to the Himedia community here!

Secondly, there is no problem playing YouTube 4K video. Check the Q10 Pro settings.

Please see below:




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline r0_ger

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 24
Re: HiMedia Q5/Q10 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #256 on: July 31, 2018, 17:39 »
Thanks for the welcome.

I have tested it on my Sony TV. The TV YouTube app is playing 4K with no issue.

But with the same clip on Q10pro, I can only select 1080p.

Anything wrong with my setting?

Sent from my ALP-L29 using Tapatalk


Offline Sunblock

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2228
HiMedia Q5/Q10 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #257 on: August 01, 2018, 17:58 »
Thanks for the welcome.

I have tested it on my Sony TV. The TV YouTube app is playing 4K with no issue.

But with the same clip on Q10pro, I can only select 1080p.
Sent from my ALP-L29 using Tapatalk

Here is the YouTube settings for playing 4K video:



And you can see the “4K” icon is lighted up —- bottom left icon:



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: August 01, 2018, 18:17 by Sunblock »

Offline Sunblock

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2228
Re: HiMedia Q5/Q10 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #258 on: August 01, 2018, 18:15 »
Oops ... forget to mention.

Based on the symptoms, most likely you need to upgrade the YouTube App.

Can you please confirm that the YouTube installed in your Q10 player is the latest version 2.03.06 ?

If not,  PM me your email for a copy ;)




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Waterzoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 574
Re: HiMedia Q5/Q10 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #259 on: September 30, 2018, 10:59 »
It has been almost 2 months since using the Q10 Pro and is very satisfied with the performance in terms of audio n video reproduction. The BD Menu works great for contents in NAS (SMB & NFS) and only if the Q10 Pro player has a jukebox then it makes a complete media player. As an alternative.,  I am using Kodi but is not that great.



Offline Sunblock

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2228
Re: HiMedia Q5/Q10 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #260 on: November 14, 2018, 19:08 »
Just updated Himedia latest firmware from the official website and here is the link:

http://www.himediatech.com/down.aspx?TypeId=11&FId=t14:11:4

Changelog:
1. 4K UHD Bluray files playback optimized
2. Happycast for IOS11.4 supported
3. Netflix playback optimized
4. When online video playback, screen size switch not working issue fixed
5. When local video playback, screen size switch not working issue fixed
6. DLNA APP wrongly stop running issue fixed
7. HDCP2.2 Switch value not keep after rebooting issue fixed
8. Russian and French language supported

Offline Sunblock

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2228
Re: HiMedia Q5/Q10 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #261 on: November 19, 2018, 19:57 »
For those who are having the Chinese version Himedia players, an update is prompt you to upgrade the firmware OTA.





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline dankoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 816
Re: HiMedia Q5/Q10 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #262 on: November 20, 2018, 16:00 »
Samsung UA55D6400 * Deftech ProCinema 800, PB12-NSD * Denon AVR 2309 * Sony PS3 * Panasonic BDT-310

Offline Sunblock

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2228
Re: HiMedia Q5/Q10 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #263 on: November 20, 2018, 18:24 »
Thinking of upgrading from my current Minix boxes...saw this seller..anyone bought here before, seems cheapest with eng firmware

https://www.lazada.sg/products/gofast-himedia-q10pro-4th-gen-4khdr-quad-core-android-51-tv-box-2gb-ram-16gb-rom-intl-i258287788-s401749831.html?spm=a2o42.searchlistbrand.list.2.4ee94dcffE8Kl4&search=1

Take note that the unit is using OS5.1 and you must be prepared to roll-up your sleeves to upgrade to 7.1 and likewise for the firmware as well.

Pretty confident that there are merchants selling the unit with OS7.1


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline dankoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 816
Re: HiMedia Q5/Q10 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #264 on: November 21, 2018, 08:47 »
Take note that the unit is using OS5.1 and you must be prepared to roll-up your sleeves to upgrade to 7.1 and likewise for the firmware as well.

Pretty confident that there are merchants selling the unit with OS7.1


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks...Cant find one that's selling with 7.1 firmware though...only see 7.1 at Aliexpress
« Last Edit: November 21, 2018, 08:52 by dankoo »
Samsung UA55D6400 * Deftech ProCinema 800, PB12-NSD * Denon AVR 2309 * Sony PS3 * Panasonic BDT-310


Offline dankoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 816
Re: HiMedia Q5/Q10 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #266 on: December 02, 2018, 07:27 »
2 qns:

1. Do you guys normally use another launcher instead of the one out of the box?
2. No soft power button? FOr Minix, I can use the soft power button to shutdown/sleep mode
Samsung UA55D6400 * Deftech ProCinema 800, PB12-NSD * Denon AVR 2309 * Sony PS3 * Panasonic BDT-310

Offline Sunblock

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 2228
Re: HiMedia Q5/Q10 Pro 4K HDR Review
« Reply #267 on: December 03, 2018, 09:20 »
No compelling reason to use another launcher (nova launcher) because quite comfortable with the default —- just two clicks on the remote ie Media Center or Kodi and it is good to go. ;)