Author Topic: Lumin Audiophile Network Player  (Read 149990 times)

Offline composition

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1348
Re: Lumin Audiophile Network Player
« Reply #45 on: November 11, 2013, 23:22 »
Installing Oracle Java SE Embedded version 7 is a pain in the neck!! It took me more than an hour to do it.

Offline composition

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1348
Re: Lumin Audiophile Network Player
« Reply #46 on: November 11, 2013, 23:37 »
Ok I finally managed to load in the MinimServer in my DS213j. It is up and running.



But the stupid Lumin app still cannot find the Lumin player and the Minim Music Library?  ??? :'(

Appreciate some advice here.


Offline wstam

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 119
Re: Lumin Audiophile Network Player
« Reply #47 on: November 12, 2013, 00:16 »
Ok I finally managed to load in the MinimServer in my DS213j. It is up and running.



But the stupid Lumin app still cannot find the Lumin player and the Minim Music Library?  ??? :'(

Appreciate some advice here.



How do you setup your wifi AP that your iPad connect to and the NAS and Lumin. Are there separate AP and switches? One possible cause may be your iPad is on different "virtual" network from your NAS and Lumin.

Offline composition

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1348
Re: Lumin Audiophile Network Player
« Reply #48 on: November 12, 2013, 00:38 »
The Fibre-Optics Nucleus Box goes to DLink Router.

I disabled the WiFi of the Dlink Router.

The Synology and the Lumin are both connected to the Dlink Router.

Asus Router is connected to the Dlink Router, and the WiFi is from the Asus router.

I have used this configuration for JRemote on the IPad controlling the JRiver on the DIY PC Music server, and it runs without a hitch.

Offline wstam

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 119
Re: Lumin Audiophile Network Player
« Reply #49 on: November 12, 2013, 01:06 »
The Fibre-Optics Nucleus Box goes to DLink Router.

I disabled the WiFi of the Dlink Router.

The Synology and the Lumin are both connected to the Dlink Router.

Asus Router is connected to the Dlink Router, and the WiFi is from the Asus router.

I have used this configuration for JRemote on the IPad controlling the JRiver on the DIY PC Music server, and it runs without a hitch.

I will think this may be the issue. I too have a Dlink router connecting to the Internet but I have its wifi on. also have an Asus wifi router. my Synology and Lumin connect to the switch with Dlink router. when my iPad connect to the Dlink wifi, the lumin app can see both sinology and lumin. but if iPad connects to asus wifi, it will not. finally I reconfigured my asus as an AP only, no router function. now the lumin app can see the NAS and lumin regardless of which wifi it connects to. hopefully this info helps.

Offline Audio

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 8068
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Re: Lumin Audiophile Network Player
« Reply #50 on: November 12, 2013, 01:31 »
Turn on wireless on the Dlink Router please, it will simply things.

Congrats to you on your purchase....Ah, now I got company...  :)

(Audio)
« Last Edit: November 12, 2013, 01:44 by Audio »

Offline Instek_88

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 528
Re: Lumin Audiophile Network Player
« Reply #51 on: November 12, 2013, 07:56 »

Offline composition

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1348
Re: Lumin Audiophile Network Player
« Reply #52 on: November 12, 2013, 12:17 »
My colleague told me to configure the Asus Router as an Access Point. Will try that when I go back home after work.

Offline composition

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1348
Re: Lumin Audiophile Network Player
« Reply #53 on: November 12, 2013, 19:39 »
Hurray!!! Configured the ASUS to AP mode, and Lumin app now works!!

Offline Audio

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 8068
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Re: Lumin Audiophile Network Player
« Reply #54 on: November 12, 2013, 22:27 »
Tonight I play this SACD on the Lumin in DSD....

WAH!!  FANTASTIC!!  All the percussion instruments so crystal clean and defined!!  Even the most complex passages!!



(Audio)

« Last Edit: November 13, 2013, 08:51 by Audio »

Offline jigster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 329
Re: Lumin Audiophile Network Player
« Reply #55 on: November 12, 2013, 23:00 »
Whatsthe price locally?
Apparently they have a new psu and option for 7N OFC copper O-type transformer or OCC silver-plated copper transformer.

Offline Tiktokape

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 3213
  • Nothing to compare, be happy and enjoy while alive
Re: Lumin Audiophile Network Player
« Reply #56 on: November 12, 2013, 23:15 »
Locally retailed at least S$8k.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline jigster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 329
Re: Lumin Audiophile Network Player
« Reply #57 on: November 12, 2013, 23:24 »
Wonder if HK cheaper, remembered it was like US$5k direct sometime earlier this year or last iirc.. I may be wrong.
Anyway, maybe heading to HK early next year, may be can tabao one back.

Offline DJQ

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 7363
  • PLINIUS The Heart Of Music
Re: Lumin Audiophile Network Player
« Reply #58 on: November 12, 2013, 23:35 »
Tonight I play this SACD on the Lumin in DSD....

WAH!!  FANTASTIC!!  All the percussion instruction so crystal clean and defined!!  Even the most complex passages!!



(Audio)


nice, I wonder if NDV has it...
ProJect Q.

Offline Quest

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 9158
  • Cyber Dreamer
Re: Lumin Audiophile Network Player
« Reply #59 on: November 12, 2013, 23:38 »
Wonder if HK cheaper, remembered it was like US$5k direct sometime earlier this year or last iirc.. I may be wrong.
Anyway, maybe heading to HK early next year, may be can tabao one back.

The price was US$4k as a introductory price when they first started out.
The new list price is US$7.2k as far as I know..

Current Singapore retail price is about $8.5k IIRC..