Author Topic: Is there a simple way to fix impedance mismatch in pre/power?  (Read 9147 times)

Offline AndrewC

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 7300
Re: Is there a simple way to fix impedance mismatch in pre/power?
« Reply #15 on: January 27, 2012, 18:21 »
Ayon direct to Quad actives in SG no problem.

Ayon direct to Bel Canto REF1000M in Aus with PurePower no problem.

Ayon direct to Focal actives in Australia with 250-260V AC to ESP distributor. Problem.

Ayon line level to Bel Canto Pre to Focal actives in Australia wih 250-260V AC to ESP distributor. No problem.

See what I mean?

Cables are Audioquest active shielded XLRs.

I still think it's something dodgy with your Solo 6 Be…  Took a while to figure out what BASH® technology was exactly. Coincidently, google ultimately pointed to the same site that vajrasattvasg pointed to; http://www.rane.com/par-b.html

BASH is Bridged Amplifier/Switching Hybrid; a standard Class AB amp but with Pulse-width modulated power-rails, apparently an OEM technology from (now defunct?) Indigo Manufacturing Inc. The Solo 6 BE probably uses something like the STA5150 BASH chip…

You have to wonder how sensitive this thing is to Power supply fluctuations and grounding issues… Try lifting the ground on your Solo 6 Be and see what happens… (Standard disclaimer: DON'T GET ELECTROCUTED or some sh*t ;D)
You'll never get to heaven with a smile on your face from me.

Offline Doggie Howser

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 22087
Re: Is there a simple way to fix impedance mismatch in pre/power?
« Reply #16 on: January 27, 2012, 19:04 »
oookay. Is there a less intrusive way of lifting the ground?

End of Line - Derezzed

Offline Doggie Howser

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 22087
Re: Is there a simple way to fix impedance mismatch in pre/power?
« Reply #17 on: January 27, 2012, 19:08 »
Something like the Entreq box they were talking about in another thread?

http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=107061.msg744796#msg744796

End of Line - Derezzed

Offline vajrasattvasg

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 921
Re: Is there a simple way to fix impedance mismatch in pre/power?
« Reply #18 on: January 27, 2012, 19:31 »
oookay. Is there a less intrusive way of lifting the ground?



least intrusive is just a 3pin to 2 pin adapter on the powercord of the solo6 perhaps
maybe the human ear isn't good enough. we need measurements, figures, numbers, calculations to tell and convince us what good sound is. or do we have to satisfy an unspoken insecurity??

Offline Doggie Howser

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 22087
Re: Is there a simple way to fix impedance mismatch in pre/power?
« Reply #19 on: January 27, 2012, 19:43 »
No excuse to buy the Entreq then :)
End of Line - Derezzed

Offline jimi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 5665
Re: Is there a simple way to fix impedance mismatch in pre/power?
« Reply #20 on: January 27, 2012, 22:09 »
No excuse to buy the Entreq then :)

You can still buy one... For me ;)

Offline Doggie Howser

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 22087
Re: Is there a simple way to fix impedance mismatch in pre/power?
« Reply #21 on: February 11, 2012, 08:28 »
OK an update:

The Focal Solo6Be does seem noisier than say the Quad 12L actives that I use in another room. There's a bit of a hiss when my ears are about an inch from the tweeter when nothing's hooked up. More than the Quads but I'd say not objectionable when I sit about 1.5m away.

But this isn't the problem I am facing when the Focals and Ayon are hooked up directly. What I get is like FM static noise/buzz that's quite loud and it goes louder and softer... even when no music is playing. That's noticeable even when I am 1.5m away. Maybe I ought to take a video.

Anyway, I decided to put the SA RLS240 to see if that fixed the problem.

Nope. Noise/white noise buzz seemed softer than before but no dice.

Then I moved the gear to the main living room and experimented the Ayon and the Focal with other pieces of gear to see if I could find the source of the problem.

First up: same combo as before, i.e. Ayon into Focals but via the PurePower regenerator. Seemed a bit softer again but still discernible from the listening position.

Next, Ayon direct to the Bel Canto REF1000Ms driving my main speakers. No issue. Dead quiet when I paused the CD.

Then it was the XDS1 to the ARC Reference 5SE to the Focals. Not dead quiet but same as the Focals without anything plugged in.

So it looks like somehow the Ayon and the Focals just don't play nice.

Dammit.

End of Line - Derezzed

Offline Quest

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 9194
  • Cyber Dreamer
Re: Is there a simple way to fix impedance mismatch in pre/power?
« Reply #22 on: February 11, 2012, 08:58 »
First up: same combo as before, i.e. Ayon into Focals but via the PurePower regenerator. Seemed a bit softer again but still discernible from the listening position.
Can you try disconnecting the purepower from the wall at this stage to see if the sound still prevails?
i assume both are connected to purepower, and also that nothing else is connected to the ayon.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2012, 09:00 by Quest »

Offline Doggie Howser

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 22087
Is there a simple way to fix impedance mismatch in pre/power?
« Reply #23 on: February 11, 2012, 09:11 »
Yeah the Ayon is plugged directly to the Focals powered by PP for all 3 devices.

End of Line - Derezzed

Offline Quest

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 9194
  • Cyber Dreamer
Re: Is there a simple way to fix impedance mismatch in pre/power?
« Reply #24 on: February 11, 2012, 09:21 »
Yeah the Ayon is plugged directly to the Focals powered by PP for all 3 devices.
can try disconnecting purepower from wall (run only on battery) for a short while, to see if any sound?

Offline econav

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 6392
AudioControl,Gallo acoustic, JVC, Ken Kreisel, Starke Sound, FocusView, Rose HiFi, Rythmik, Xgimi, Zidoo UHD2000

From time to time we may sell off New but open up used for rental/standby/loan items and to ensure they cant be sold as Brand new, we will dispose off the box.

All posts
http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?action=profile;area=showposts;u=2968
Service & collection : Block 1085 #03-36 Eunos Ave 7A  whatsapp 96387418 to arrange

Offline Doggie Howser

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 22087
Re: Is there a simple way to fix impedance mismatch in pre/power?
« Reply #26 on: February 25, 2012, 12:24 »
OK just an update.

I got a PM from another Ayon CD5S owner and he's had the same problem. He's using the Ayon CD5S direct to his Modwright power amp (KWA150).

End of Line - Derezzed

Offline Doggie Howser

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 22087
Is there a simple way to fix impedance mismatch in pre/power?
« Reply #27 on: February 26, 2012, 20:38 »
This is apparently in the Ayon manual.

---------- Forwarded message ----------
> Below is a note from the CD-5s owner's manual when you connect the CD-5s
> directly via XLR to a solid state amp.
>
>
> Exceptions for the „direct“ connection of the CD-Player with solid-state
> power amplifiers or active loudspeakers:
>   
> There are some solid-state power amplifiers or active loudspeakers, with
> which you rather should not use the symmetrical connection, or where, as the
> case may be, a loud hum modulation, high-frequency interference signals or a
> so-called “oscillation” can occur.
>
> The Ayon 6H30-tube output stage is designed extremely puristical and
> “short”; i.e. absolutely no negative feedback, no correcting or compensating
> devices and no filter in the circuit. (See also the note about the special
> properties of the 6H30 tube).
> But “pure tube” design also means a big and difficult challenge in
> realization for our engineers; and also e.g. we would respect some
> non-important measuring data to a much lesser extent. All these puristical
> sound-techniques require that the electrical interface parameters of the
> subsequent power amplifiers should match the ones of the CD-Player in
> accordance with the standards.
>
> Typically the input impedance of power amplifiers is 47k or above. However,
> there are solid-state power amplifiers with a lower value (down to only
> 1.8k). I.e., there is a significant matching problem between the CD-Player
> and the solid-state power amplifier (impedance, capacity, phase rotation
> etc.; in special cases there may also be a problem of a difference in the
> grounding-potential of the connection). Furthermore some solid-state power
> amplifiers possess not too big an input override rigidity (but paradoxically
> in addition a high input sensitivity); therefore additionally they quickly
> are overcharged by the “strong puristic” symmetrical output stage of the
> CD-Player.
>
> Therefore, in case of symmetrical input values below 47k we strongly
> recommend to use the asymmetric RCA/cinch connection or a classic separate
> preamplifier.
>
> Note: in case you really wish to use the symmetric “direct” connection, we
> can adapt the CD-Player to the special electric properties (power amplifier
> or active speaker) to a large extent at your costs. Please note that then
> the CD-Player can only be operated at optimal conditions with this
> particular solid-state power amplifier or another with very similar
> electrical input parameters.
End of Line - Derezzed

Offline jigster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 332
Re: Is there a simple way to fix impedance mismatch in pre/power?
« Reply #28 on: February 27, 2012, 09:54 »
I had the same problem with my horn speakers with an Accuphase integrated but not with my set amp. I realised that it was interference coming from my computer. No noise when my pc is off. The pc was about 1 metre away from the amp & in-between the speakers

Offline Doggie Howser

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 22087
Is there a simple way to fix impedance mismatch in pre/power?
« Reply #29 on: February 27, 2012, 09:59 »
Anyway. The issue had nothing to do with PCs. As Ayon explained, the Ayon doesn't use negative feedback and it seems like the impedance mismatch in combination causes this problem on balanced connections. Using RCA fixes the problem.

Hope I have better luck with a Plinius that has a 47kOhm input impedance.
End of Line - Derezzed

 

SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal